The war-wrecked Arlington Mill Courtesy of the Civil War Collection, Photography Collections, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
The use of photography during the Civil War provides primary-source evidence of many a war-wrecked mill. In addition to the iconic silver print of the ravaged brick walls of the Gallego Flour Mills in Richmond, time has also preserved this rare still-frame photo of the old Arlington Mill.
Built in 1836 by George Washington’s step-grandson, George Washington Parke Custis, the mill was destroyed by Union troops after the Second Battle of Bull Run, who then used the planks to construct make-shift shelters. For additional photos of mills taken during the War between the North and South, see the Library of Congress Civil War Glass Negatives and Related Prints collection. Included are Civil War images of Gaines’ Mill, Union Mills, and Jericho Mills of Virginia.